Once you've set up a PPP account, you can further configure and
customize RP3.
Some settings which are displayed in RP3can
be determined by your preferences. To view or change the settings,
right-click on the application and, in the menu which appears,
left-click once on Properties.
In the Properties dialog (see Figure 5-9), you'll find the following entries:
Connection name: Allows you to switch between
network connections that you have previously configured.
Count: Allows you to specify whether you want
to view your time online or the costs of your online session.
Confirm starting connection: Confirms your
intention to start a connection.
Confirm stopping connection: Confirms your
intention to stop a connection.
Cost per: You can elect to view the costs of
your session by the hours, minutes, or seconds. To view this
feature, you must select the Count: cost option.
The settings you'll find in the Properties dialog relate
to the configured devices and accounts. You can also customize
and configure account information by right-clicking on the
RP3 monitor and selecting the
Configure PPP entry.
In the Internet Connections dialog which appears,
you can add a new account, edit or delete a current account, copy the
account to create a new entry, and manually dial the account.
Selecting the New entry will begin the
Configure PPP tool, allowing you to enter new
account information.
When you choose to Edit a current entry, you can
change account details in the Account Info
tab. Among the fields you can change are your login name, your password,
and ISP telephone number.
In the Modem tab of the dialog, you can specify the
location of your modem (such as /dev/ttyS1). You
can either type in the information, or click on the Find
Modem... button, which will attempt to automatically detect
your modem.